Join us on July 29th for the next Bite-Sized Lecture!

The next Bite-Sized Lecture will be July 29th from 12:30 PM- 1:30 PM EST.

The lecture will feature multiple critical care providers speaking about Neonatal Necrotizing Enterocolitis from the unique perspective of their profession. 

We hope you can join us online! Please click HERE to register.

If you are a SCCM SE member who recently graduated or will be graduating in 2020, we would like to congratulate you!

Nominate a nurse for the Barbara A. McLean Contributions to Critical Care Nursing Award!

The Southeast Chapter of SCCM is proud to offer the annual “Barbara A. McLean Contributions to Critical Care Nursing Award”.  This award will be delivered to a critical care nurse who exemplifies the values of the SCCM: A model based on collaboration, contribution, evidenced-based communications, and collegiality.

Who can participate?

Any Critical Care Nurse that meets the following criteria:

  • In practice for at least 4 years
  • A mentor to others
  • Seeks out responsibilities that evolve the practice of critical care
  • Contributes beyond the responsibilities of paid employment
  • Attends critical care meetings and educational programs
  • Does not have to be a member of the SCCM SE Chapter
  • Nurse practitioners do not qualify

Who can nominate?

  • Any person on a critical care team 
  • Must be a member of the SCCM SE Chapter
  • Board members and chapter officers may not nominate

What does the award consist of?

The final candidate will receive a check for $250 and a one-year membership to both the local and national SCCM organizations. The awardee will also receive an award plaque in recognition of his/her commitment to critical care. 

How to submit the nomination?

The nominator must provide a letter detailing the nominee’s contribution to critical care nursing excellence AND a team approach to managing the critically ill or injured patients. This letter should validate the nominee’s clinical, educational and/or leadership contributions relevant to critical care. In addition, the contributions to health care outside of their work place should be highlighted. 

Nomination and a letter of support should be emailed with original signatures and letterhead (if possible) to

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2019 Barbara McLean Award winner!

We are pleased to announce Lesley Kirkendall, BSN, RN, CCRN, CNRN, SCRN as the 2019 recipient of the Barbara A. McLean – Contributions to Critical Care Nursing Award! Mrs. Kirkendall is a neurocritical care nurse at Baptist Memorial Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee, and she has received multiple certifications to advance her career (CNRN, CCRN, ENLS, and SCRN). Additionally, she is an active member in the Greater Memphis Area Chapter of the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN).  

Ms. Kirkendall plays an active role in the interprofessional team on a daily basis within her unit. She is also involved in multiple quality improvement projects, such as the ICU Liberation National Collaborative, and in the education of onboarding new neurocritical care nurses. Not only does Ms. Kirkendall serve as a leader within her organization, but she also gives back to her community by teaching Basic Life Support (BLS) to the 164th Tennessee Air National Guard and serves as a mentor for the American Association of Neuroscience Nurses (AANN) in the Memphis area.

While this does not include all of the roles and activities that Mrs. Kirkendall has accomplished, the dedication to her career and commitment to patient care that Mrs. Kirkendall exemplifies deserves to be recognized by this prestigious award!